‘Deep Safe’ removal and other stuff

There has been a recent Dev Blog post regarding changes (removal basically) of deep safe’s in Tyrannus. About time; this is one of those things I’ve read a couple times here and there in my time in Eve (and even one of my own just to test the theory) and every time I come across it I couldn’t help but think ‘This is an exploit. They should fix this, it’s clearly not intended mechanics and gives a large advantage to folks who do this. It’s a cheat, a hack, and hopefully CCP will fix it.’ And lo and behold, years later, they actually do.

Historically I’ve had a open and recorded history with a strong stance against hacks, exploits, cheats… anything that creates an unfair advantage to one party in an manner unintended by game mechanics. Asheron’s Call was my first real MMO and I avoided PvP due to the slide casting crap, and in WoW I’ve made a couple stands on Silver Hand on the matter. WoW due to it’s nature has a lot of exposure to exploits; but thankfully I’ve always been in a position to prevent the groups I run with from using them. I started in WoW as a guild leader of a small corp that was formed with RL friends, and then moved on to a raiding organization of significant size (maybe the largest in all of WoW, we were never really sure) where there was support for similar habits.

Eve still has a couple ‘unfavourable’ actions that currently are used, though some of the ones I find most annoying I think are intentional by CCP these days (Neutral repping in highsec for instance. That should be a true aggression timer, yo) but in time I think CCP will close the most egregious ones. And good on them for removing this one (though I know null sec corps in general are going to lament their removal).

On another note entirely, my Eve time has been somewhat limited lately. Some RL things, I’m mucking around in Star Trek Online a bit, and there’s been ingame issues have made me a bit less interested in logging in. Shift happens though.

The corp did have a PvP runin in lowsec on the weekend while I was busy that went rather… less than optimal. We’ve done a fair bit of analysis on it (probably more than is healthy…) and have identified areas to improve. That all being said though, a lot of our PvP headaches are lack of experience doing it, and that will continue till we lose more ships, basically. In WH space we’re in decent shape, we know the flow of combat and how it runs and can hold our own, but outside the WH it’s a different beast, and it’s a beast we don’t know yet.

Time will tell that one. In the meantime, I’m working on skilling up my toons. Kor is almost done his truck to Marauder (and elite core fitting skills), Tul is done his spider tanking skills and working on Covert Ops for WH scanning, and Kah is well on his way to being done able to build Carriers/Rorqual for our current WH home. We’ve made the decision not to leave our current system in the foreseeable future, and having cap support if we’re engaged in there would be a nice advantage over any invading force.

Comments are closed.

